Date Night and Dinner at Eureka!Burger

Claire’s usual Thursday evening class was cancelled, and I had the day off from work, so we found ourselves with the strange phenomenon of an evening to spend together. The night before, Claire voiced her opinion of wanting to go out of the house, so on Thursday I tried to come up with options on where we could go.

Friends at work had been encouraging me to visit Eureka!Burger in Redlands, telling me that the burgers are good and that they have a good selection of beers on tap. When I told Claire about Eureka!Burger, she agreed that it sounded good, so off we went. Plus we had heard that on Thursday nights in Redlands, there is a Farmers Market, so we figured we would walk around the market after dinner (we actually never made it to the market as I assumed it was in a certain place and it was not).

We arrived right before 6pm, so we were able to get the Happy Hour prices for beer ($2 off), so I started with the Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar, which is an English Brown Ale, and really enjoyed it. It had a great flavor and was really smooth, like a Newcastle, but a lot better. Claire ordered the Hanger 24 Orange Wheat, and absolutely loved it. I am not a huge wheat beer fan, but with the slight taste of orange, I find the beer very enjoyable.

I had perused the menu online, and so knew that I was going to order the Fig Marmalade Burger. The burger is topped with homemade fig marmalade, melted goat cheese, crispy bacon, chopped tomato and onion, arugula and a spicy porter mustard sauce.

The burger arrived a really nice medium rare, which is how I ordered it. The bun was soft yet did not fall apart. The fig marmalade added a great sweetness to the burger. Occasionally I would taste the goat cheese and the brightness it yielded to the burger. The bacon added a great texture contrast and saltiness to the burger. A couple bites into my burger I had to reach for a menu to remind myself all that was on the burger because the dominant flavor on the burger was the spicy mustard sauce. The mustard was great, but it seemed to overpower the other parts of the burger, the parts I was actually most excited about. Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed the burger, but I think the burger would have been that much more special without the mustard sauce.

Claire ordered the Turkey Cobb Burger (I unfortunately did not get a picture of her burger).  The turkey patty is topped with all the workings of a traditional Cobb salad – bacon, lettuce, tomato, avocado, and blue cheese. However, her burger, like mine, was also topped with the spicy porter mustard sauce, which again dominated the flavors of the burger.

Every burger comes with handcut potato fries, which I found good, but again not great, as they were not crispy enough. I wonder if they single fry their fries, like In-N-Out. So if you like In-N-Out fries, I think you will like these. Claire opted for the sweet potato fries, which are $1.25 extra, and they are quite tasty. The fries are glazed in honey and cinnamon. I especially loved the cinnamon flavor, as it balanced the sweetness of the fries.

The best part of it all was just being outside the house. Claire and I are natural home bodies who need quietness especially with all that is going on in both of our lives. Not to mention that we have been trying desperately to save money. But on Thursday night it was great just to connect over a dinner out. Every now and then we need a change of scenery, and Eureka!Burger provided just that for Claire and me.

One thought on “Date Night and Dinner at Eureka!Burger

Leave a Reply

